- Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program | Wagner Fellowship Award

In 1997, Bob and Mary Wagner established The Robert R. Wagner Fellowship Fund with the goal of providing fellowships to graduate students in the basic sciences in the School of Medicine.  Among Dr. Wagner’s notable contributions to UVA include his service as the first Chair of the Department of Microbiology and as the founding Director of the UVA Cancer Center. Mrs. Wagner began her generous support of graduate students soon after Dr. Wagner’s death in 2001. The Fellowship endowment became fully funded after Mrs. Wagner’s death in 2013 and is currently valued at approximately $5.3M. This incredible investment in the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program at the University of Virginia is a lasting tribute to Dr. Wagner’s legacy. 

The following awardees are also listed in our “What’s new in BIMS?” page.


Congratulations: 2017 Wagner Fellowship Awardees


Please join us in congratulating the 2017 Robert R. Wagner Fellowship awardees. We are thrilled that the Wagner Fellowship fund was able to support 9 BIMS students this year due to the incredible generosity of Dr. Robert Wagner and his wife Mary.

Rising 3rd year students (left to right)

Shambhavi Singh
Natasha Sheybani
Alyse Frisbee
Pedro DaCosta-Pinheiro



Rising 4th/5th year students (left to right)

Olivia Sabik
Anna Blazier
Ellen Mintz
Carleigh O’Brien
Bryan Barker






Congratulations: 2016 Wagner Fellowship Awardees

We are thrilled to announce that the Wagner Fellowship fund was able to support 12 BIMS students this year due to the incredible generosity of Dr. Robert Wagner and his wife Mary.  Dr. Wagner served as Professor and Chair of Microbiology from 1967-1994 and contributed in so many ways to the School of Medicine, UVA, and the scientific community at large.  These fellowships are a lasting tribute to his dedication to student training, his encouragement of young scientists, and his love of UVA.  Please join us in congratulating the 2016 Wagner Fellows.

Rising 3rd year students:

  • Andrew Grainger
  • Paige Kulling
  • Anthony Rodriguez
  • Scott Seki
  • Jacqueline Stevens

Rising 4th/5th year students

  • CJ Anderson
  • Kelly Barford
  • Bryan Barker
  • Elizabeth Hoffman
  • Molly Kelly-Goss
  • Brian Mead
  • Stephanie Ragland


Congratulations: 2015 Wagner Fellowship Awardees

Wagner-Fellows-group-11        Wagner-Fellows-group21

Please join us in congratulating the 2015 Robert R. Wagner Fellowship awardees. The students, listed below, were selected by the Directors of Graduate Studies from a highly competitive pool based on their outstanding performance in graduate school. In addition to a stipend, tuition, fees, and health insurance, all Wagner fellows receive a one-time stipend bonus toward professional development.

Rising third-year students:

  • Gabe Alencar (Gary Owens and Stefan Bekiranov)
  • CJ Anderson (Melissa Kendall)
  • Anna Blazier (Jason Papin)
  • Anthony Fernandez-Castaneda (Alban Gaultier)
  • Liz Hoffman (David Auble)
  • Molly Kelly-Goss (Shayn Peirce-Cottler)

Rising 4th/5th year students:

  • Tyler Basting (Patrice Guyenet)
  • Salome Boroda (Thurl Harris)
  • Magda Cichewicz (Anindya Dutta)
  • Carrie Cowardin (Bill Petri)
  • Aldo Nascimento (Dave Kashatus)
  • Jacint Sanchez (Owen Pornillos)
  • Mike Wheeler (Chris Deppmann and Ali Guler)

(UVA Health System Connect, June 20, 2015) 

Congratulations to UVa BME PhD candidate, Eric Greenwald winner of the the 2014 Wagner Fellowship.

This fellowship is made possible thanks to the wonderful generosity of Dr. Robert R. Wagner M.D. and his wife Mary.

2014 Wagner Fellowship Recipient

Great job Eric!